Summertime and the Livin’s Easy….

(Shout out to Sublime)

Busy nothings

“Life is but a quick succession of busy nothings.”~Jane Austen

Ahhhh… such wisdom by one of the greatest author’s ever published. I truly enjoy a good Jane Austen novel. There’s nothing to remind oneself of an ‘easy life’ than to curl up with her novel and a good cup of joe (with ice should you feel it more appropriate in the summer). Reading is an excellent “busy nothing”.

Recently, I was at an outing with some of my teacher-friends (as if to differentiate them from my NON-teacher friends! ha!). One of them said, “Oh I’ve read three books this summer!” To which another replied, “I’ve read four! It’s great!” They then began to converse about their books. Much to my chagrin, I realized I hadn’t read ANY. I had not the time to sit and read at all! It was two whole weeks into summer, and I had not even gotten the opportunity to indulge in my favorite pastime. I set out to remedy it as quickly as possible!!

After our ‘accidental kitchen remodel’ was finished (longer story than should be allowed on the first blog), I was finally able to sit down and read. “Oh, Tara! How in the world with two small children do you find the time??” you ask. I can answer in two little words. Two short, glorious words in which all mothers of young children relish. Two infinitesimal words with SO much power…. nap time. That’s right. Between 1 and 3 in the afternoon, I have time to catch up on chores, watch a tv show (whose jingle does not repeatedly play in my head all afternoon), or read a few chapters in a book. It. Is. Awesome. I usually choose the latter.

Reading really does wonders for the brain. A quick click here will tell you how: http://www.realsimple.com/health/preventative-health/benefits-of-reading-real-books

Need somewhere good to start on your next “busy nothing”? Ask me! I LOVE inspiring others to read and helping them to find what interests them. Truly, finding a genre of literature you enjoy is like being able to have a personal masseuse available at any time of the day. Or you could try this goofy little quiz to figure it out!

https://www.bookbrowse.com/quiz/

Happy reading!!

Leave a Reply

